Product Review: The Body Shop Born Lippy Lip Balm

The Body shop, I was so fascinated by the name of this brand that hit the middle eastern markets in 90’s. I read about Dame Anita Roddick and actually had visited the first store which was in Jumierah near Magrudys. I was about five or six and after reading about this ambitious woman, I wanted to make sure that one day I will buy something from her store. Anita Roddick’s philosophies, her ideas were revolutionary and her passion has made this brand recognized all over the world. She was and is my idol, I love how she stood up for herself and changed the beauty world.

When I first started earning, I was fifteen and it was a promotion that I did at a mall. We were paid wages by hours, after my day’s work I was strolling around and I spotted The Body shop store. I made my first purchase, it was coco body butter and I just loved it! I had fulfilled my little wish and ever since then I have been purchasing from The Body Shop.

My favorite ranges are Vitamin C range and Tea Tree.

Recently I realized that I have been only purchasing products from their skin regime range and not tried anything different. To start trying out other ranges, I tried the BORN LIPPY™ pot Lip Balm Strawberry flavor.

Let us first learn about the ingredients of the product:

Ricinus Communis Seed Oil (Emollient), Lanolin (Emollient), Polyglyceryl-3 Beeswax (Emulsifier), Parfum (Fragrance), Cera Alba (Emulsifier/Emollient), Hydrogenated Castor Oil (Emollient), Silica (Absorbent), Tocopheryl Acetate (Antioxidant), Carthamus Tinctorius Seed Oil (Occlusive, Skin Conditioning Agent), Ammonium Glycyrrhizate (Flavour), Aroma (Flavour), Fragaria Vesca Fruit Extract (Natural Additive), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Benzyl Benzoate (Solvent), CI 15850 (Colour).

IMG_3461

Two weeks down I regret my purchase of this product. The fragrance is fantastic but honestly this product doesn’t do any good to the lips. There are too many flaws in this product and I shall be pointing them out to you in points as the nerd in me says so.

  • The product claims to give a red tint to the lips, nothing as such really happened.
  • You have to use your fingers to dip in and apply on lips. Its a nightmare for women with longer nails.
  • Heals Chapped lips? No. not at all.
  • Long stay? Not that either, you have got to apply this product every 2-3 hours
  • Super sticky! Winding day, blowing hair and disaster that the hair get stuck on lips thanks to the lip balm.

Conclusion: Even though I love The Body Shop, I will definitely not recommend this product to those who are looking for soft and supple lips since it doesn’t help at all. I think it product is targeted to the younger audience because the range has these funky names like Satsuma Shimmer, Raspberry, Strawberry and Pink Guava. These are generally popular with teenagers.

Leave a Reply

