#ZomatoMeetUp – Discovering Hypno Thai Brunch

Sawadika (Hello) my readers…

A few weeks back I was invited to a fantastic Hypnothai-sing brunch by Zomato team at Thiptara – Palace Downtown Dubai. It is always fun to meet up fellow bloggers and writers who share similar interests (food first!).

IMG_4059IMG_4046

Overlooking Downtown Dubai & Burj Khalifa, Hypnothai brunch at Thiptara offers thai cuisine with a modern twist. I fell in love with the simplistic decor that incorporated statues of Lord Buddha and wooden panel work. The decor is perfect to compliment the crystal blue waters that the restaurant faces. The view is best enjoyable in the afternoons.

IMG_3981

I was a bit late for the meetup and couldn’t take picture of the dining hall for viewing neither could I try out all the vegetarian appetizers. However I have loads to share of decor as well as rest of dishes we tried out.

For appetizers I had to prompt the staff thrice and finally I was brought fried tofu & vegetarian dimsums. I had to ask staff for assistance as the dishes lined up at the buffet area were not labelled. The fried tofu was extremely bland & the dimsums were delicate and delicious.

There is also a live salad bar where you can request a salad to be created as per your liking. Unfortunately I couldn’t enjoy that as well as they did not have arrangements for vegetarians.Such a shame, would have loved a custom salad with my choice of ingredients. However the friendly server did direct me to the pre-prepared delicious Som Tam Thai salad that made me salivate and ready for the main courses. The combination of the tangy papaya & crunchiness from the cashews was just perfect.

IMG_3998

IMG_3987IMG_3988IMG_3989IMG_3992

As soon as the main courses were announced, subtle aroma of jasmine rice filled the room and a server came with a basket full of them serving on each plate. The main courses though came a while after the rice. I felt the servers were a bit flustered as there was a major delay in serving main courses. Also I had to prompt them many times to get the right cutlery for the course. To be honest, the vegetarian choices in mains weren’t much. There was pad thai noodles & green curry. The pad thai noodles were quite dry & not exactly what I would expect in a restaurant specializing in South Asian cuisine. On the other hand the green curry was absolutely delicious! A bit sweeter than what traditional thai green curries are but it was beautifully perfumed and perfect accompaniment to the jasmine rice. The non vegetarians had a beautiful dish of lobster to look forward to and there was a beef dish as well. Both of which I was informed were delicious.(Watch slideshow below)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There was a wide variety of drinks available both alcoholic & non alcoholic. I did not take a chance to try any as I was trying to recover from cold & flu issues. There was even fresh coconut water available and one of most interesting drinks was the cucumber soda. (Watch slideshow below)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Coming to my favorite part, the desserts. There was a wide variety available and for a sweet tooth like me I was really glad that I tried most of them. The sticky rice pudding and the popping candy chocolate tart were two of my favorite amongst the range available. The presentation was spot on with edible flowers and petite tarts/ pastries the dessert table looked so inviting! Only dislikes were the taro cake & ripen banana fritters with chocolate sauce.

Verdict

Even though Hypnothai brunch doesn’t offer much of vegetarians options, I would definitely come back to enjoy the view, the thai green curry & desserts. The ingredients used were of high quality & that reflected in the dishes that were served.

Hoping the service improves and also they add labels to dishes which is one of my reasons for lower rating. The servers should ensure the diners are aware of the dish they are consuming, the same was not informed at any time unless prompted.

I would suggest this place for casual Friday dates where you can drink, dine & enjoy the Dubai fountain shows.

Cost per person:

AED 260 with soft beverages

Aed 320 with house beverages

Aed 390 with house beverages + bubbly

For more information click here or contact – 04 2753077

We were also introduced to smoke free shisha at Fai Bar & lounge which is interconnected to Thiptara. I shall cover that in the next post.

 

Thiptara Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

